Blog Tour · book review

Book Review: One Winters Night by Kiley Dunbar

*Please be advised that affiliate links may be used within this post. If you click on any of the links, there will not be a cost to you, however, I may receive some commission.*

Title: One Winters Night
Author: Kiley Dunbar
Publisher: Hera
Genre: Romance
Pages: 283

Thank you to Kiley Dunbar and Rachel’s Random Resources for the opportunity to read this book in the exchange for an honest review as part of One Winters Night Blog Tour!

Plot Outline: A gorgeously uplifting, romantic read that will warm your heart – take a trip to Stratford-Upon-Avon, where magic happens…

It’s autumn in beautiful Stratford-Upon-Avon and Kelsey Anderson is enjoying her new life in her adopted town. Her Shakespearean tour guide days behind her, she’s now opened her own photography studio and loved up with boyfriend Jonathan – even if a long-distance relationship is sometimes lonely.

When best friend Mirren Imrie moves down from Scotland, Kelsey is delighted to have her friend at her side – and as the nights turn colder, Mirren throws herself into dating, until she finds herself growing closer to sexy journalist, Adrian Armadale. But when Mirren uncovers a long-buried scandal while working at the local newspaper, her big scoop might throw Kelsey’s – and Jonathan’s – life upside down. Will she choose her career over her friends’ happiness?

And when Jonathan returns from America and discovers the secrets Mirren has uncovered about his family, it throws his relationship with Kelsey onto shaky ground. Can they find their way back to love, before it becomes the winter of their discontent?

A romantic, funny and feelgood read that will make you smile from ear to ear. Fans of Milly Johnson, Heidi Swain and Holly Martin will fall in love with this cosy winter read!

Rating/Recommend:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Review: Oh My Gosh!!! What can I say about this book! I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!!!!

Dunbar introduces us to Kelsey, a loved up photographer who had taken the next step to set up her own studio/photography business. Her boyfriend, Johnathon, was working abroad pursing his acting career, and wouldn’t be home until Christmas…. As Kelsey starts looking further afield to get the word out about her business, she comes across the opportunity to take some headshots of a well known actress, Blythe, for the local Examiner. As Kelsey and Blythe strike up a friendship sharing stories their lives (mainly Blythe telling the stories) over gin jam, some mysterious pieces of history start to come out.

During this time, Kelsey’s friend from Scotland, Mirren, is being gaslighted at her job by two senior members of staff. After having enough of being bullied and harassed, Mirren decides to quite her job and join Kelsey for a visit to clear her head. I really felt sorry for Mirren, as while this was going on, she had also split with her long-time partner due to coming clean about cheating, and was living with her mum who was an alcoholic. Mirren’s life had literally hit rock bottom, BUT she meets a guy, who could be worth a second chance with….

Kelsey gives Mirren a place to stay, and Mirren finds a job at the local bar when Kelsey gets an idea (with encouragement from Blythe) about what to do with her photography business!! As part of the studio contract with her former boss, Kelsey also had a barge to use. While Mirren was using the living side of the accommodation, there was plenty of space to make her own exhibition of her photographs….

Back to Kelsey’s boyfriend – Johnathan doesn’t know who his real father is, and after seeing a photo at the back of an old book Blythe was donating, Kelsey figured that the actor, John Westgate, from this book, was Johnathan’s father. Confused?! I was too!!! I won’t spoil too much, but as you read through those chapters you experience the hurt, betrayal and love of those who are closest to you.

Was Kelsey right to trust Mirren with Johnathan’s possible dad identity?
Was Adrian (Mirren’s new friend) all that he seemed?
Will Kelsey’s business take off?
Will there be a happy ever after?

If you are wondering about the answers to those questions, you seriously need to read the book!! The ending was so well done, that when I finished this book, I had tears in my eyes, and I just can’t wait to re-read it again soon!! FANTASTIC!

About The Author:

Hi, I’m Kiley Dunbar, author of heart-warming, escapist, romantic fiction set in beautiful places.

If you’re looking for travel adventures, swoony heroes, and dreamy escapism that will let you forget the world just for a wee while then I’m your author.

Take your pick from my first three novels:

Summer at the Highland Coral Beach (2020), the first in the Port Willow Bay Series, takes you on an impromptu crafting holiday in the Scottish Highlands and reminds us that after the storm comes the rainbow. Crafts, ceilidhs, coral bays and gentle recovery. (Part two coming September 2021 – both parts can be read alone)

Christmas at Frozen Falls (2019) will fly you to snowy, remote Finnish Lapland over Christmas where Sylvie Magnussen is getting a second chance at love with an old flame – sexy Stellan Virtanen – the one who got away – well, he ran away actually, and Sylvie never understood why. Hot kisses in a cold climate, Northern lights and a stunning resort setting. (Standalone novel)

One Summer’s Night (2019) whisks you away on a working staycation in beautiful Stratford-upon-Avon during a sultry heatwave summer. Kelsey Anderson, Shakespeare nerd and aspiring photographer, navigates her new life in a new town. A starting over story, handsome actors, backstage passes, and a whole lot of drama in the Heart of England. (Sequel coming September 2020 – both parts can be read alone)

You can follow Kiley on her Facebook and Twitter.

AVAILABLE NOW

Happy Reading, x

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s